Fibromyalgia – The “you don’t look sick” Disorder

I have Fibromyalgia. And I hate it. I’m sure anyone with a chronic illness hates said illness. Why wouldn’t they. I happen to have this particular one and the worst part is that unless I’ve fallen asleep at my desk and am drooling on my keyboard I probably look pretty normal. Looking normal = feeling great. NOT!

There are nights I cannot sleep because of muscle pain. When I cannot sleep I power through the following day at work and then often am unable to sleep due to pain the following night. But I don’t “look” sick so folks think I’m being overly dramatic, or making something small into a huge deal. I’m not and neither are the thousands of others that suffer from fibromyalgia and yet don’t look sick. This is a real and debilitating disorder and for many relief is never found. I am trying yet another medication in the hope that it will assist in alleviating some of the muscle pain that I suffer from. I’ve tried many – none with any satisfaction. OTC medications don’t touch the pain and since I work full-time I cannot take sleep medicine as I would NOT be able to get up in the morning. I’m kind of screwed. And it sucks. So to all those out there suffering like me – hang in there and know that there are many others going through the same thing you are. One day at a time.

If you work, talk to your doctor about Family Medical Leave and utilize the benefit. This will at least keep your job safe should you need time to heal. Your spouse can also receive the benefit if they assist in taking care of you when you can’t really take care of yourself. Something to look in to if you haven’t done so already.

I also suggest a TENS Unit. TENS stands for Transcutaneous Electric Nerve Stimulator and you can purchase portable units that can be quickly set-up and used for muscle pain. I have two of them – one just for work – and they really do help when not in the middle of a flare. Flare pain doesn’t respond to much – in my case anyway. Maybe you are different though. I hope so.

Hang in there Fibro-Warrior!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mitchteemley says:

    That’s rough. My 26 year old daughter was diagnosed with fibro last year, and is gradually learning what does and doesn’t help. Praying.

    Like

    1. Thanks Mitch. Prayers to your daughter as well. Fibro is brutal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

