Dynamic Catholic

I am Catholic. I don’t just say I’m Catholic I live my life as a Catholic daily. I walk the walk and I talk the talk. Am I a good Catholic? No way. Do I try my best to live a good life, being kind to others and being humble? Yes. I’m always striving to learn more about my faith and to become the best version of myself.

In pursuit of this goal my spouse and I attended an event titled, “Living with Passion and Purpose” put on my Matthew Kelly of Dynamic Catholic and boy, am reeling! I am invigorated and have a renewed and greater sense of my faith and what I was made for. Many don’t believe in God, and that’s fine, for you. I do believe and boy, after listening to Matthew Kelly for 4 hours I am ready to contemplate my decisions; challenge myself to become the BEST version of myself – the version God created me to be.

Who am I and who do others see me as? This is a huge question and I wonder how others view me. If I were to be an example of a decent Catholic would it be a good example or not? I want it to be good. I find my life in Catholicism to be very rich and rewarding but rarely do I bring that into the workplace with me. My co-workers know I’m Catholic and understand when I am gone every year during the Easter Triduum and don’t eat meat on Fridays. But is my work different? Am I more engaged or do I provide better customer service? I should treat everyone I interact with as I would treat Jesus. Do I? I doubt it. Should I? You betcha. If I were ever face to face with Jesus there is nothing I would not do for him. Why should it be different for others I am dealing with? Jesus didn’t discriminate and neither will I.

Living our lives as God wants us to and making choices based on what is best for us – in our hearts – will make sure we are available to the plans God has for us. Be attentive. Listen for God. He’s talking to you but if you never take the time to really listen you will never hear him. How very sad to miss God’s words. I know I don’t want to miss anything God wants to tell me and I will be making myself more available to the Lord from here on out.

Why not give it a shot? Take 15 minutes in a silent room and just listen. Or pray and listen. Ask God for guidance. Lay your cross down at his door and ask him to help you with it. God always listens but he doesn’t always answer you in the way you think he will. Watch for his answers all around you and in tiny little ways.

You’ll be glad you did. I promise.

You can thank me later.

Leave a Reply

