Walk for Autism

Asperger’s Syndrome. That’s what it used to be called. Then the powers that be in the medical world got together and reclassified psychological disorders within the Autism Spectrum Disorder category . I have a son that is high-functioning autistic. He’s my Aspie (someone with Asperger’s) and he’s an amazing kid that most folks would never know is on the spectrum at all. He is best described as “quirky” and that description fits him perfectly. He marches to his own drummer, as we all should, with no fear of judgement. I admire that about him. I know that the reason he has no fear of judgement is because he truly does not realize there is reason for him to be judged. He is very self-centric. What he is doing or wants to do is really all he cares about. It is a pain in the butt for those that live with him – but it’s great in getting him through school or social situations without hurt feelings.

As soon as he was diagnosed I started reading anything I could on Asperger’s and parenting someone with the disorder. I just wanted to know the best way to communicate with him, deal with his anxiety issues and make him the best version of himself that I could. I also got my nuclear and extended family involved as well. You know what they say, “it takes a village”. Well that is very true when one of your children has special needs – even if mild. I am fortunate, as is my son, that we have a very supportive network of family and friends. There is also this great organization in Chico called The Yellow Door and this weekend was the annual Chico Walks for Autism event at our local municipal park – Bidwell Park. It is one of the largest municipal parks in the U.S. and it’s gorgeous. So myself and my family and friends got together to support The Yellow Door, those with autism and my son. It was an wonderful event, with tons of volunteers and local support. I feel blessed to have resources nearby should we ever need them. I am very happy for those families with children further into the spectrum, as they have some outstanding organizations supporting them in our little town.

So that is how I spent my Saturday. Hope you found yourself doing something you enjoy too!

Leave a Reply

