Who Turned the Heat Up?

I am going to get this out in the open right up front. I HATE HOT WEATHER. Hate it. A lot. Biggest problem with this? I live in the Northern California valley and it gets freaking hot here during the summer. What’s hot? Over 100 degrees. A temp consistently over 100, with periods between 105-110 degrees. The only bright spot in this horrid temperature occurrence? No humidity. The heat I deal with here in Chico is dry. Like opening the oven door. It’s hot, but there is no moisture in the air to ratchet up the effects and drench you immediately when you go outside. Some say it’s easier to handle. I agree. But I still don’t like it.

I know – I could move elsewhere. A place with more temperate weather. A place where summer temps hover near 85. I could – if my entire family wasn’t in Northern California. My husband’s family is nearby as well. We’re kind of stuck here until both the kids are out of school and moving wouldn’t be as disruptive or drama-filled.

I am fortunate to live in a town that is intersected by Bidwell Park. It’s the third largest municipal park in CA and one of the top 20ish in the country. It’s gorgeous and affords many outdoorsy spots to get in the water to cool down and beat the heat. The featured photo is of Sycamore Pool which is a natural cement pond. That is Big Chico Creek and during the summer there are lifeguards and a snack stand. It’s a gorgeous spot to enjoy a swim, a picnic or just some quiet time in the shade of a large tree.

I have two suggestions. If you ever visit Chico (and I highly recommend it) – come during the spring or fall and visit both lower and upper Bidwell Park. You will not be disappointed.

 

Leave a comment